ISA announces Honors & Awards Gala Award Winners

  • August 22, 2007
  • News
Research Triangle Park, NC (August 22, 2007) - ISA is proud to announce the Honors and Awards Gala 2007 honorees, and extends congratulations and thanks to these extraordinary individuals. The ISA Honors and Awards Gala will be held in conjunction with ISA EXPO at the Hyatt Regency Houston, Houston, Texas, on 1 October 2007. This prestigious black-tie event will honor the following individuals for their contributions to and advancement of the automation industry.2007 Honors & Awards Recipients:Honorary MemberWilliam JeffreyNational Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, USACitation: For his lifetime commitment to advancing measurement science, standards, and technology that promote innovation, enhance industrial competitiveness, and improve the quality of life.Life Achievement AwardK. Arvid JohansonRetired (Union Carbide Corporation), Richmond, Texas, USACitation: In recognition of sustained dedication to ISA and the instrumentation, systems, and automation community through his technical knowledge, publications, and leadership skills.FellowsRomel S. BhullarOrange County Section, Fluor Corporation, Carlsbad, California, USA In recognition of the development and implementation of advanced control strategies.Dale P. EvelyBirmingham Section, Southern Company Services, Inc., Moody, Alabama, USA In recognition of the development of control strategies for coal-fired selective catalytic reduction systems.Edward M. MarszalColumbus Section, Kenexis, Columbus, Ohio, USA In recognition of advancement of Safety Instrumented Systems.Donald P. MayeauxBaton Rouge Section, A Plus Corporation, Gonzales, Louisiana, USA In recognition of contributions in the field of process analytical sampling systems.David W. SpitzerNew York Section, Spitzer and Boyes LLC, Chestnut Ridge, New York, USA In recognition of contributions to flow measurement and variable speed drives for process control.Harold L. Wade, Ph.D.Houston Section, Wade Associates, Inc., Houston, Texas, USA In recognition of advancements in control loop simulation.Allan J. ZadirakaISA Power Industry Division, The Babcock & Wilcox Co, Barberton, Ohio, USA In recognition of the development of instrumentation and control for low emission boiler systems.Technical RecognitionsDouglas H. Annin AwardGary K. LawEmerson Process Management, Austin, Texas, USACitation: For design and development of a safety instrumented system logic solver that is built into a basic process control system input/output card. Arnold O. Beckman Founder AwardC.D. Feng, Ph.D.Emerson Process Management, Rosemount Analytical, Inc., Liquid Division, Irvine, California, USACitation: For the research and development of advanced electrochemical sensing and instrumentation. Donald P. Eckman Education AwardBabatunde A. Ogunnaike, Ph.D.University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware, USACitation: For outstanding contributions to education and training in the science, engineering and technology of instrumentation, systems, and automation. Albert F. Sperry Founder AwardHoward P. ZinschlagRetired (MEMC Electronic Material, Inc.), Chesterfield, Missouri, USACitation: For outstanding technical contributions and leadership in the silicon industry and, in particular, for his pioneering computer automation of silicon crystal pullers for the growth of single crystal silicon ingots for the semiconductor industry.UOP Technology AwardDonald P. MayeauxA Plus Corporation, Gonzales, Louisiana, USACitation: For significant contributions, including more than 20 patents, to meet the sample conditioning system needs of the analytical instruments industry.Service RecognitionsGolden Achievement AwardEoin Ó RiainIreland Section, Read-out Publications, Conamara, Co Galway, Ireland John C.Querido Orange County Section, Jontec Systems, Inc., Laguna Hills, California, USA Marjorie A. Widmeyer Northern California Section, Consultant, Poulsbo, Washington, USADistinguished Society ServiceGary L. Campbell, CCST, IIICentral Arizona Section, Waston Laboratories, Inc., Phoenix Arizona, USA William H. Comer ISA Aerospace Industries and Test Measurement Divisions, Micro Craft & Calspan, Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA Eamon Creech Ireland Section, Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd., Little Island, Co Cork, Ireland Ronald V. Migliorini England Section, Emerson Process Management, West Sussex, UK Charles W. Morris Birmingham Section, Control and Power, Birmingham, Alabama, USA Brian T. Smith Sarnia Section, NOVA Chemicals, Sarnia, Ontaria, Canada Steven J. Valdez New Jersey Section, Eastern Controls, Inc., Paramus, New Jersey, USAEmerging Leader AwardAubri C. Barnett BuchananAerospace Industries Division, NASA Stennis Space Center/University of Southern Mississippi, Hattisburg, Mississippi, USA Dawn MacKerron Boston Section, Applied Motion Solutions, Belmont, Massachusetts, USA David J.Robinson Edmonton Section, Samson Controls, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada Shari Worthington ISA Management Division, Telesian Technology, Inc., Worcester, Massachusetts, USAExcellence in Documentation AwardCo-authors of the paper "Improving PID Control with Unreliable Communications," published in ISA 2006 Technology Updates: Terry L. Blevins, Mark J. Nixon, and Willy K. Wojsznis - Bluebonnet Section, Emerson Process Management, Austin, Texas, USA Deji Chen - Emerson Process Management, Austin, Texas, USA Aloysius K. Mok and Jianping Song - University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, USAStandards & Practices AwardEric C. CosmanNortheastern Michigan Section, Dow Chemical Co., Midland, Michigan, USADon W. Thompson AwardElhami T. Ibrahim, Ph.D.Los Angeles Section, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, California, USACorporate Sponsorship and Support AwardSmall Company Category: Willer Engineering Limited, North York, Ontario, Canada Large Company Category: Spartan Controls Limited, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada Outstanding Division AwardAutomation & Technology Department: Analysis DivisionIndustries & Sciences Department: Power Industry DivisionSection Performance AwardSarnia SectionOrange County SectionCalgary SectionGala tickets and reserved tables are available for purchase. Tickets are $70 per person, $560 per table of eight. Tickets are sold on a first come, first serve basis and seating is limited. Call (919)549- 8411 to purchase tickets.Sponsorship opportunities are also available. About ISA Founded in 1945, ISA is a leading, global, nonprofit organization that is setting the standard for automation by helping over 30,000 worldwide members and other professionals solve difficult technical problems, while enhancing their leadership and personal career capabilities.Based in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, ISA develops standards; certifies industry professionals; provides education and training; publishes books and technical articles; and hosts the largest conference and exhibition for automation professionals in the Western Hemisphere. ISA is the founding sponsor of The Automation Federation. Learn More

Did you enjoy this great article?

Check out our free e-newsletters to read more great articles..