Express Logic Announces Certification Pack for ThreadX

  • April 26, 2010

April 26, 2010 - Express Logic announced Safety-Critical Certification Pack products for its ThreadX RTOS for the North American market. Building on a recent announcement to provide certification for many European standards, Express Logic is extending its offering to cover RTCA’s DO-178B, FDA 510(k) Pre-Market Notification and Approval, and IEC-61508 for avionics, medical and industrial automation equipment. With ThreadX and the appropriate Safety-Critical Certification Pack for their industry, manufacturers can save time and money, and mitigate their development risk by using a proven, readily-certifiable RTOS for a fraction of the cost of alternate solutions. ThreadX has proven itself in over 750 million electronic devices, many of which are required to meet stringent aviation, medical, industrial, transportation, and rail safety and reliability standards. To date, ThreadX customers have performed the tests and validations themselves and produced all required documentation. By introducing a turnkey Certification Pack for ThreadX, Express Logic now can help embedded device manufacturers eliminate many developer-months of verification and validation effort in complying with rigorous reliability and safety-critical regulatory standards.The ThreadX Safety-Critical Certification Pack addresses the requirements of many safety certification standards, and is a 100% turnkey solution for certification of the RTOS used in a safety-critical system. ThreadX Certification PackThe ThreadX Certification Pack is a turnkey solution for meeting the RTOS-related aspects of standards for safety-critical systems. The ThreadX Certification Pack includes all source code, documentation, coverage analysis, validation artifacts, and summary report for submission to the governing agency as part of the overall system certification. Each Pack is pre-tailored for the specific standard addressed (e.g., DO-178B, Level A), the Operating System used (i.e., ThreadX), and the Target Environment (i.e., processor, board, development tools, etc.), leaving nothing for the customer to do, but submit the evidence to the certifying authority.A typical ThreadX Certification Pack contains the following:

  • Software Safety Requirements
  • Software Safety Validation Plan
  • Development Plan
  • Configuration Management Plan
  • Quality Assurance Plan
  • Verification/Test Plan
  • Coding Standards
  • Requirements Standards
  • Design Standards
  • Requirements Specification
  • Design Description
  • Unit Test Procedure
  • Unit Test Plans
  • Unit Test Reports
  • Integration Test Procedure
  • Integration Test Plan
  • Integration Test Report
  • Trace Matrices
  • Configuration Index
  • Software Accomplishments Summary
  • Safety Manual
  • Shipping and AvailabilityThreadX Safety Critical Certification Packs are available for a wide range of customer target environments and development tools, and for a wide range of European and International regulatory standards, at license prices starting at $25,000.

    Learn More